Follow Footymad on Facebook Follow Footymad on Twitter RSS feed

Northampton Town's results from season 1997/1998

Results of games featuring Northampton Town during the season

Match result analysis
Venue Played Won Drawn Lost For Against
Home 29 18 7 4 47 22
Away 29 4 14 11 23 32
Neutral 1 0 0 1 0 1
Total 59 22 21 16 70 55
Click here to view Northampton Town's complete league history View Northampton Town's results from other seasons
Date Opponents V Type Res/KO Venue Att View options
Sat 09 Aug 1997 AFC BOURNEMOUTH H League L 0-2 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 12 Aug 1997 MILLWALL H League Cup W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium 3,773   Stats  
Sat 16 Aug 1997 Wycombe Wanderers A League D 0-0 Adams Park     Stats Table
Sat 23 Aug 1997 BRISTOL CITY H League W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Wed 27 Aug 1997 Millwall A League Cup L 1-2 The Den 4,364   Stats  
after extra time, 90 minutes 2-1, aggregate 3-3, Millwal won 2-0 on penalties
Sat 30 Aug 1997 Carlisle United A League W 2-0 Brunton Park 6,307   Stats Table
Tue 02 Sep 1997 Walsall A League W 2-0 Bescot Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 09 Sep 1997 LUTON TOWN H League W 1-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 13 Sep 1997 Oldham Athletic A League D 2-2 Boundary Park     Stats Table
Sat 20 Sep 1997 WIGAN ATHLETIC H League W 1-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 27 Sep 1997 MILLWALL H League W 2-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 04 Oct 1997 Southend United A League D 0-0 Roots Hall     Stats Table
Sat 11 Oct 1997 Grimsby Town A League L 0-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 18 Oct 1997 GILLINGHAM H League W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 21 Oct 1997 YORK CITY H League D 1-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 25 Oct 1997 Fulham A League D 1-1 Craven Cottage     Stats Table
Sat 01 Nov 1997 BRISTOL ROVERS H League D 1-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 04 Nov 1997 Blackpool A League D 1-1 Bloomfield Road     Stats Table
Sat 08 Nov 1997 Wrexham A League L 0-1 Racecourse Ground     Stats Table
Sat 15 Nov 1997 Exeter City A F.A. Cup D 1-1 St. James Park 4,605   Stats  
Tue 18 Nov 1997 BRENTFORD H League W 4-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 22 Nov 1997 WATFORD H League L 0-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 25 Nov 1997 EXETER CITY H F.A. Cup W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium 5,259   Stats  
Sat 29 Nov 1997 Burnley A League L 1-2 Turf Moor 8,369   Stats Table
Tue 02 Dec 1997 CHESTERFIELD H League D 0-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 06 Dec 1997 BASINGSTOKE TOWN H F.A. Cup D 1-1 Sixfields Stadium 5,881   Stats  
Tue 09 Dec 1997 PLYMOUTH ARGYLE H (Assc.Mmbrs.) D 1-1 Sixfields Stadium 2,631   Stats  
after extra time, 90 minutes 1-1, Northampton Town won 5-3 on penalties
Sat 13 Dec 1997 Preston North End A League L 0-1 Deepdale     Stats Table
Tue 16 Dec 1997 Basingstoke Town A F.A. Cup D 0-0 The Camrose 4,943   Stats  
after extra time, 90 minutes 0-0, Northampton Town won 4-3 on penalties
Sat 20 Dec 1997 PLYMOUTH ARGYLE H League W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Fri 26 Dec 1997 Luton Town A League D 2-2 Kenilworth Road     Stats Table
Sun 28 Dec 1997 WALSALL H League W 3-2 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 03 Jan 1998 Leicester City A F.A. Cup L 0-4 Filbert Street 20,608   Stats  
Sat 10 Jan 1998 AFC Bournemouth A League L 0-3 Dean Court     Stats Table
Tue 13 Jan 1998 TORQUAY UNITED H (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 5-1 Sixfields Stadium 2,845   Stats  
Sat 17 Jan 1998 CARLISLE UNITED H League W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium 6,327   Stats Table
Sat 24 Jan 1998 Bristol City A League D 0-0 Ashton Gate     Stats Table
Tue 27 Jan 1998 Peterborough United A (Assc.Mmbrs.) L 1-2 London Road 5,516   Stats  
Sat 31 Jan 1998 OLDHAM ATHLETIC H League D 0-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 07 Feb 1998 Wigan Athletic A League D 1-1 Springfield Park     Stats Table
Tue 10 Feb 1998 WYCOMBE WANDERERS H League W 2-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 14 Feb 1998 SOUTHEND UNITED H League W 3-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 21 Feb 1998 Millwall A League D 0-0 The Den     Stats Table
Tue 24 Feb 1998 Gillingham A League L 0-1 Priestfield     Stats Table
Sat 28 Feb 1998 GRIMSBY TOWN H League W 2-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 03 Mar 1998 WREXHAM H League L 0-1 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 07 Mar 1998 Bristol Rovers A League W 2-0 Memorial Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 14 Mar 1998 BLACKPOOL H League W 2-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 21 Mar 1998 Brentford A League D 0-0 Griffin Park     Stats Table
Sat 28 Mar 1998 Watford A League D 1-1 Vicarage Road     Stats Table
Sat 04 Apr 1998 BURNLEY H League L 0-1 Sixfields Stadium 7,264   Stats Table
Sat 11 Apr 1998 Chesterfield A League L 1-2 Saltergate     Stats Table
Mon 13 Apr 1998 PRESTON NORTH END H League D 2-2 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 18 Apr 1998 Plymouth Argyle A League W 3-1 Home Park     Stats Table
Sat 25 Apr 1998 FULHAM H League W 1-0 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 02 May 1998 York City A League D 0-0 Bootham Crescent     Stats Table
Sun 10 May 1998 Bristol Rovers A FL P/O Lvl3 L 1-3 Memorial Stadium 9,173   Stats  
Wed 13 May 1998 BRISTOL ROVERS H FL P/O Lvl3 W 3-0 Sixfields Stadium 7,501   Stats  
Northampton Town won 4-3 on aggregate
Sun 24 May 1998 Grimsby Town Neu FL P/O Lvl3 L 0-1 Wembley (old) 62,988   Stats  
played at Wembley