City seeded in Carling Cup draw

Last updated : 16 August 2007 By Michael Morris
The 36 remaining Football League clubs and 12 Premier League clubs not competing in European competition this season go into the hat for the matches to be played in the week commencing August 27.

The live draw can be seen on Sky Sports following the Rotherham United v Sheffield Wednesday match.
The 48 clubs are split into seeded and non-seeded clubs based on last season's League performance. If Sheffield Wednesday win this evening they will be a seeded club, if Rotherham win Barnsley will be a seeded club.

The seeded clubs are: Aston Villa, Birmingham City, Burnley, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Coventry City, Derby County, Fulham, Leicester City, Manchester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Plymouth Argyle, Portsmouth, Reading, Sheffield United, Sunderland, Watford, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wigan Athletic, Wolverhampton Wanderers and Barnsley/ Sheffield Wednesday.

The non-seeded clubs are: Barnsley/Rotherham United, Blackpool, Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, Carlisle United, Doncaster Rovers, Hartlepool United, Hereford United, Hull City, Leeds United, Leyton Orient, Luton Town, Milton Keynes Dons, Morecambe, Northampton Town, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Peterborough United, Rochdale, Shrewsbury Town, Southend United, Stockport County, Swansea City and Wrexham.

Info from the Football League.