FAW Premier Cup set to continue

Last updated : 27 June 2002 By Michael Morris
Cardiff City are of course the current holders of the Trophy and pocketed the £100,000 for winning the competition. The BBC will continue to support the competition for at least another two years. Next season's format will be the same as last season with Barry, Cardiff, Swansea and Wrexham joining at the 1/4 final stage while Bangor, Caersws, Rhyl, Cwmbran, TNS, Connah's Quay, Afan Lido and Newport County battling it out in the group stages. Four of the LoW clubs will make it to the 1/4's and they get home advantage.

The prize money will continue to be the same and BBC Wales will again be televising the competition.