Forest v Cardiff. Match preview

Last updated : 22 October 2016 By Michael Morris

C:WindowsTempphp9FB9.tmpProblems are mounting for Nottingham Forest head coach Philippe Montanier ahead of the visit of Cardiff live on Sky Sports 1 on Saturday evening.

Hildeberto Pereira is suspended after his red card in the defeat to Blackburn while fellow defender Matt Mills must also serve a one-match ban after he received his fifth yellow card of the season at Ewood Park.

Midfielders David Vaughan and Mustapha Carayol went off injured during the 2-1 loss against Rovers in midweek, joining striker Nicklas Bendtner in the treatment room, and they look likely to miss out on Saturday evening.

Daniel Pinillos has resumed training and is making good progress in his recovery from a knee injury and the defender is close to being back in contention but Matty Fryatt (Achilles) is still out.

Cardiff manager Neil Warnock, who missed out on the Forest job in the summer, has revealed he has "a couple of problems" regarding injuries but has refused to specify who is affected.

Because of the evening kick-off, Warnock intends to travel to Forest first before making a decision on the players carrying knocks.

Former England international Kieran Richardson may make his debut after being an unused substitute against Sheffield Wednesday in midweek.

Another new signing, Marouane Chamakh, made his first appearance off the bench against the Owls and could push for a starting spot.

Match facts

  • Nottingham Forest haven't kept a clean sheet in any of their last nine league games against Cardiff, losing six of those games (W2 D1).
  • The Bluebirds have won six of their last 10 league trips to the City Ground (D2 L2), including winning each of the last two by a 2-1 scoreline.
  • Eleven different players have assisted a goal for Nottm Forest this season; a league-high.
  • The Bluebirds have enjoyed just one victory in their last 11 away outings in the Championship (D4 L6) - a 2-1 win against Rotherham.


Today's officials:

Assistants: Christopher Akers and Daniel Robathan 
Fourth Official: John Brooks