Stabilty reigns as seven City stars sign new deals

Last updated : 07 July 2018 By Michael Morris

On the day that it was announced that Vincent Tan had made remarkable strides into converting Cardiff City's debt to equity there was more encouraging news as seven existing players were given new contracts.

Skipper Sean Morrison, Joe Ralls and Callum Paterson (pictured) extended their deals until 2022, Nathaniel Mendez-Laing signed until 2021 while Matt Connolly and Lee Peltier received two year deals until 2020.


There was also a show of support from Neil Warnock to back uu keeper Brian Murphy. Dropping down to the third choice for this season Murphy has been given a one year deal.

Warnock said “We’ve worked really hard this week to get a number of the lads’ contracts tied down ahead of the new season.

“I’m delighted we’ve been able to do this and I thank Tan Sri Vincent, Mehmet and Ken for their support throughout the summer as well: we’ve done brilliantly.”

Previously Joe Bennett, Junior Hoilett and Neil Etheridge had signed new deals.

Aron Gunnarsson has verbally agreed to stay at Cardiff City and is expected to sign a conract on his return from the World Cup.