Two City players named in team of the season

Last updated : 18 May 2012 By Michael Morris

whitts2The full team, chosen by the shows presenters including including Manish Bhasin, Steve Claridge, Mark Clemmit and Leroy Rosenior is:

Goalkeeper - Adam Federici - Reading
Right Back - Kevin McNaughton - Cardiff City
Left Back - Ian Harte - Reading
Centre Back - Curtis Davies - Birmingham City
Centre Back - James Tomkins - West Ham United
Right Wing - Matt Phillips - Blackpool
Central Midfield - Kevin Nolan - West Ham United
Central Midfield - Peter Whittingham - Cardiff City
Left Wing - Adam Lallana - Southampton
Striker - Jason Roberts - Reading
Striker - Rickie Lambert - Southampton

Whitingham was again paired with Kevin Nolan as they were in the 2010 winning team (Nolan was with Newcastle then).

Rosenior said of the Cardiff man: "Whittingham has been key to their season with some wonderful midfield displays allied to plenty of goals"